Class of 2021-22 Graduates in Wamego


The Board of Directors of the Flint Hills Regional Leadership Program  honored the graduating class of the training experience for Fort Riley, Geary, Riley and Pottawatomie Counties at the Columbian Theater, Wamego.

  Executive Director Jack Lindquist introduced the class of twenty for plaque presentations.  “Being the twenty-ninth year since the programs founding, we found a renewed sense of focus to make sure we had great programming to match our exceptional participants.  We found, through our team leadership module interaction, that championing causes that focused on better life and livelihood was a common and frequently chosen path.” Lindquist announced.

“The twenty participants found they could work with any other combination of team members within this diverse class and given that, vastly increased their confidence in collaborative skills.  They found and embraced the most important component of true servant leadership and earned the moniker ‘The Pathfinders’ class.” Lindquist added. “We are confident you will continue to lead by tapping into your future team’s collective aptitude while channeling their deep-rooted compassion and desire to find a better path for a better future.” Lindquist concluded.

The class of 20 includes:

Christine Benne        Riley County


Regional Volunteer, including Manhattan Military Relations Committee, Flint Hills Discovery Center Foundation Board; Friends of Fort Riley Museums Board; AUSA & Flint Hills Veterans Coalition

Casey Biesenthal       Pottawatomie County


Mortgage Loan Officer, Bank of the Flint Hills

Christian Bishop       Wabaunsee County


Protocol Specialist, First Infantry Division Headquarters, Fort Riley

Andrew Darrow        Geary County 

Junction City

IT Director, City of Manhattan

Cade Dover                Pottawatomie County

Saint George

District Operations Manager, EVERGY

David Easterling        Geary County

Junction City

Suicide Prevention Program Manager, Army Substance Abuse Program/DHR @ USAG Fort Riley

Josh Gering               Riley County


Assistant Director, Riley County EMS

Travis Godfrey          Geary County

Junction City

Outside Sales Manager,

Godfrey’s Indoor Ranges & Tactical Supply

Becky Goff                Riley County


WIBW-TV Regional News Reporter and Multimedia Journalist, Geary, Riley, Pottawatomie Counties 

Vanessa Gray             Geary County

Junction City

Director of the Junction City Animal Shelter

Marc Greene             Geary County 

Fort Riley 

Deputy Garrison Safety Director, USAG Fort Riley

Shannon Horton        Riley County


Director of Growing Nurturing Families, TFI Family Services

George Kandt                        Riley County


Business Retention & Expansion Mgr., Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce

Matthew Lindquist   Riley County


Administrator, Stonecreek Family Physicians

Jeremy McDiffett      Wabaunsee County

Alta Vista        

Information Technology Manager, 

K-State College of Veterinary Medicine         

Vivienne Uccello        Riley County


Public Information Officer for Riley County

Devin Wendt              Pottawatomie County


Lead Pastor, Crestview Christian Church

Wendy Winston         Riley County


Division Chief, Directorate of Family and Morale, Welfare and Recreation @ USAG Ft Riley

Nancy Zenger-Beneda          Riley County


Executive Director, Kansas Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom

Eric Zenk                   Pottawatomie County


Special Emphasis & Disability Program Manager, 

Equal Employment Opportunity Office @ USAG Fort Riley

During the event, Chair Chris Bowman introduced Keynote Jared Estes, Wichita, selected for his work to overcome tragedy and adversity.  “Jared Estes inspires others and shares a vision and pathway we should all take to heart and put into practice.  Our new leaders will reflect on the message to be dedicated to drawing from others for strength and working to protect and preserve the relationships necessary to better our quality of life.”

The new FHRLP Board members, selected by their classmates, are Christian Bishop, Wamego and Cade Dover, St George.  The representatives each provided reflection on the year and Jeremy McDiffett, Alta Vista, joined them to announce the class project – A baseball diamond renovation in Alta Vista and Mini Library in Saint George.  

Chair Chris Bowman closed the ceremonies stating, “Over this past year, our regions communities have never faced greater need for critical thinking, and visionary leadership. When we shaped the Class of 2021-22, we sought those willing to learn leadership skills to find a pathway through crisis. We found you were definitely people with the right stuff to lead by example… inherent and well trained, focused servant leaders.”