2018-19 Class Announcement

August 31, 2018

Flint Hills Regional Leadership Program Announces Class of 2018-19


The Board of Directors of the Flint Hills Regional Leadership Program has named the members of the next class of participants for the 2018-19 program year according to Brian Peterson, program alumnus and chairman of the board for the organization.  The announcement was made public at IRON CLAD in Wamego during a reception for the newest program participants.  The event was underwritten by CivicPlus, Bruce McMillan A/A Architects PA and a number of alumni.  Opening the reception, Peterson stated that, “The Flint Hills Regional Leadership Program is based in the fastest growing region of our state. We have never had more opportunity or greater need for well informed, collaborative, decisive leadership.  That is possible through 21st Century proactive servant leadership development.  The regions premier leadership training program is designed to train and more-fully engage leaders in the area that includes Fort Riley, Geary, Riley and Pottawatomie counties.”


Class members to complete the seven session course over the next six months include:



Ken Barteau

GE County

Facilities Director, Corvias


Bryan Bartlett 

GE County

Program Mgr., Army Community Service Relocation Readiness


Akash Bhatia

PT County

Manager of Quality Assurance – CivicPlus


Chris Bowman

RL County

Employee Assistance Program Coordinator, Department of Defense, Army


LaNiqe Brown

GE County

Retail Office Supervisor, Central National Bank


Neil Bruce 

RL County

Project Controls Manager – Corvias


Marcy Cantrell-Akin

RL County

Assistant VP, Commercial Lending, Commerce Bank


Adam Clark 

PT County

Lead Software Engineer, CivicPlus


Keirsten Cragg

RL County

Records Clerk – Riley Co. Register of Deeds



Janelle Dobbins

PT County

From the Land of Kansas Marketing Manager, KS Dept of Agriculture


Mark Dombrowski

GE County

Security Branch Chief, Directorate of Emergency Services Fort Riley


Zach Eckels

GE County

Marketing Coordinator, Kaw Valley Engineering


Rebecca Estrella 

Ft Riley

Service to Armed Forces Regional Program Mgr., American Red Cross


Tom Fulmer

PT County

Customer Service Coordinator, WTC


Lynn Hammond

PT County

Residential Communities Chief,

US Army Housing


Katharine Hensler

RL County

Flint Hills Discovery Center, Assistant Director/Development


Calley Hoffman

PT County

Director of Operations & Administration –

Tallgrass Brewing Co.



Sladana Hudson

RL County

Account Executive,

Eagle Communications


Kelly Karl

RL County

Director of Construction – CORVIAS


Ronna Larson

GE County

Unit Supervisor, Adult Services – 8th Judicial Dist. Community Corrections


Lee Modesitt

RL County

Communication Director – Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins


Janet Nichols

RL County

Military Community Liaison, Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce


Allana Parker

Riley County

Curator of Design, Riley County Historical Museum 


Margaret Pendleton

RL County

Flint Hills Association of Realtors Executive


Nicole Springer 

GE County

Market Manager, Intrust Bank


Britain Stites

GE County

City Attorney – Junction City


Holly Voelcker 

GE County

Budget Analyst, Resource Management Office, Ft Riley


Brandon White

PT County

Demand & Orders Analyst, CATERPILLAR


Kristina Wyatt

RL County

Laboratory Administrator –

K-State Veterinary Diagnostic Lab


Maggie Ziffer

RL County

Public Affairs Specialist, Fort Riley



Co-Chair Susan Adams, class of 2016-17 graduate said, “Our new class members are to be commended for pursuing the opportunity to be members of the Flint Hills Regional Leadership Program class of  2018-19.  The effort to recruit a class proved the most competitive in our programs history and the applicant pool was very deep and diverse.  The boards job to hone down the pool to the new class of 30 members was very challenging.  Selection was based on candidates ability to commit to full participation by attending and engaging in all sessions, and exhibiting a dedication to the areas future through volunteer servant leadership experiences to-date.   We also need to recognize the continuing support of our Alumni.  Dues & donations have exceeded $1,500 for this years’ scholarship fund drive. The Ailleen Cray Memorial Scholarships recipients are:  Katherine Hensler; Ronna Larson and Kristina Wyatt.”


Executive Director Jack Lindquist concluded the announcement saying, “Now, in our 26th year, our 500 participants to-date have one thing in common, the desire to better life and livelihood in the northern Flint Hills.  We are excited to launch the next 30 members to add to that legacy.”


Sessions get underway with Orientation at Rock Springs State 4-H Center and Junction City/Geary County in two weeks.